Skip to content

Healthy Clark Dashboard and Healthy Clark COVID Plan

The IRB meets only during the academic year. Complete proposal applications must be submitted by the relevant deadline for each meeting. Applications that can be reviewed on a rolling basis (e.g., exempt and some expedited reviews, including anonymous surveys) can be submitted at any time.  Apart from situations in which urgent review is required due to extenuating circumstances, the IRB does not review new applications during the summer.

Deadlines and meetings for the current academic year are as follows:

Deadlines Meetings
Monday, September 7 @ 5 p.m. Monday, September 21
Monday, October 12 @ 5 p.m. Monday, October 26
Monday, November 9 @ 5 p.m. Monday, November 23
Monday, December 7 @ 5 p.m. Monday, December 21

Deadlines and meetings for the upcoming spring 2021 academic year are as follows:

Deadlines Meetings
Monday, January 4 @ 5 p.m. Tuesday, January 19
Monday, February 8  @ 5 p.m. Tuesday, February 23
Monday, March 8 @ 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 23
Monday, April 12 @ 5 p.m. Tuesday, April 27
Monday, May 3 @ 5 p.m. Tuesday, May 18

Turnaround time for proposal review is normally 1-3 weeks after submission (for exempt or expedited reviews) or 1-2 weeks after the meeting date (for full board reviews).  An additional week is sometimes needed for special circumstances.

Some committee determinations may require review of a revised proposal at a subsequent meeting of the full committee. It is strongly urged that research planned for summer be submitted for review NO LATER THAN APRIL to allow time for resubmission if required.

All IRB applications must be submitted using the Mentor IRB website.  The old MS Word application form is no longer valid and will not be accepted as of November 2020.  Use the Mentor IRB link for IRB proposal applications and instructions.

The Clark IRB requires that informed consent documents given to subjects participating in non-exempt research bear the approval stamp of the IRB. The stamped document is the only consent form that may be photocopied for distribution to study participants.

Contact Information

Sponsored Programs and Research

Office
  • Geography 300 and 300A
    Clark University
    950 Main Street
    Worcester, MA 01610
  • Lisa Gaudette, Director
  • 1-508-421-3835
  • lgaudette[at]clarku[dot]edu