Skip to content

Over the years, faculty in Clark University’s Graduate School of Geography have received numerous acknowledgments from national and international science communities: fellowships, awards, journal editorships, and calls to serve on prestigious governmental and non-governmental boards and associations.

This long track record of recognition speaks volumes about the significance of research conducted by past and present faculty in the Clark Graduate School of Geography. For decades, our geography faculty have been deemed to be among the most important scholars in the world.

  • National Academy of Sciences: Robert W. Kates (1975), Billie Lee Turner II (1995), Susan Hanson (2000), Roger E. Kasperson (2003), Anthony Bebbington (2009)
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences: Robert W. Kates (1976), Billie Lee Turner II (1998), Susan Hanson (2000), Roger E. Kasperson (2004), Anthony Bebbington (2014)
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science: Billie Lee Turner II (2002), Susan Hanson (1991), Roger Kasperson (1987), Robert E. Kates (1987)
  • Guggenheim Fellows: Anthony Bebbington (2014), Susan Hanson (1989), Billie Lee Turner II (1981)
  • Academia Europaea: Robert W. Kates (1993)
  • MacArthur Fellow: Robert W. Kates (1981-85)
  • National Medal of Science: Robert W. Kates (1991)
  • Fulbright Fellow: Douglas Johnson (1987-88)


  • Annals of the American Association of Geographers: James McCarthy, Editor, Nature-Society (2016–present)
  • Canadian Journal of Remote Sensing: John Rogan, Associate Editor/Rédacteurs Associés (2007–present)
  • Deep Sea Research II: Karen Frey, Guest Editor (2017–present)
  • Economic Geography: James Murphy, Editor-in-Chief (2014–present)
  • Frontiers in Artificial Intelligence: AI in Food, Agriculture, and Water: Lyndon Estes, Specialty Chief Editor (2023–present)
  • International Encyclopedia of Geography: James Murphy, Section Editor, Development Studies (2014–present)
  • Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences: Anthony Bebbington, Editor (2012–present)
  • World Development: Anthony Bebbington, Associate Editor (2013–present)
  • Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing: John Rogan, Associate Editor (2022-present)
  • Journal of Geophysical Research: Biogeosciences: Karen Frey, Associate Editor (2024-present)
  • Antipode: Richard Peet (co-founder, 1969)
  • Economic Geography: Wallace Atwood (1925)
  • Human Geography: a new radical journal: Richard Peet (2008)
  • Journal of Historical Geography: Martyn Bowden (1975)

Professional Committee and Organization Leadership

  • Distributed Biological Observatory Program: Karen Frey, Science Steering Committee Member (2011–present)
  • Global Land Programme, Future Earth: Rinku Roy Chowdhury, Fellow (2020–present)
  • Interagency Arctic Research Policy Committee (IARPC) Marine Ecosystems: Karen Frey, Team Member (2016–present)
  • International Arctic Science Committee (IASC): Karen Frey, Marine Working Group Member (2016–present)
  • National Academies, Geographical Sciences Committee: Anthony Bebbington (2013–present)
  • North American Carbon Program, Science Leadership Group: Christopher Williams, Co-Chair (2018–present)
  • Oxfam America, Board of Directors: Anthony Bebbington (2017–present)
  • Ellen Churchill Semple (1921)
  • Wallace Atwood (1934)
  • Saul B. Cohen (1989)
  • Susan Hanson (1990)
  • Robert W. Kates (1993)