Skip to content
SPS Award Winners

School of Professional Studies presents annual awards to students and faculty

Edlira Stefani recognized a second time for teaching effectiveness

The recipients of this year’s awards for outstanding School of Professional Studies (SPS) students and faculty were announced at a May 19 ceremony held at Razzo Hall as part of Clark University’s Commencement Weekend. The event included undergraduate and graduate honorees.

“The significant growth of the School of Professional Studies is complimented by the excellence of our students and faculty, and the impact they are making on our campus and in our community.”

“It gives me great pleasure to recognize and celebrate this year’s accomplished award recipients,” said John G. LaBrie, dean of the SPS and associate provost for professional education. Anabel Riggio ’22, MPA ’23, was recognized with the Fern Johnson Award, which is given annually to an Accelerated Degree Program student who has excelled in academics and who has also positively influenced their community. As an SPS peer adviser, Anabel mentored other graduate students and helped them with important tasks such as course registration.

Vijay Yadav, MSDA ’23, received the Laura Myers Community Service Award
Vijay Yadav, MSDA ’23, receives the Laura Myers Community Service Award.

Vijay Yadav, MSDA ’23, received the Laura Myers Community Service Award, which is given to a graduate student who has made significant contributions to the local community through their time, actions, talents, and dedication. Vijay was honored for the educational videos he has created and shared on his YouTube channel, as well as for his work filming a documentary for a non-profit organization in Worcester.

The newest members of two SPS honor societies – the Alpha Epsilon Lambda Graduate Honor Society and the Alpha Sigma Lambda Undergraduate Honor Society – were inducted at the May 19 ceremony. Certificates for outstanding academic performance were presented to students with the highest GPA in their major or program, as well.

Three SPS faculty members also received awards, based on votes by their students.

Meredith Corey earned the Fiat Lux Award, which honors an up-and-coming faculty member who embraces new ideas and approaches to teaching.

Edlira Stefani was recognized with the Jonas Gilman Clark Award, which is awarded to a seasoned faculty member for effectiveness and creativity in teaching. Stefani was a previous recipient of the SPS Fiat Lux Award.

Meredith Corey
John G. LaBrie, dean of the SPS and associate provost for professional education
presents Meredith Corey the Fiat Lux Award.

Jeremy Kauffman received the Semita Vitae (Path of Life) Award, which recognizes an instructor who has proven to be an extraordinarily conscientious, supportive, and inspiring mentor to advisees.