Skip to content

People

Department Chair

Meredith Neuman
Meredith Neuman

Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

Stephen Levin
Stephen Levin

Associate Professor

Creative Writing Coordinator

English Department Faculty

Louis Bastien
Louis Bastien

Associate Teaching Professor

Betsy Huang
Betsy Huang

Associate Professor

Esther Jones
Esther Jones

Asc Prov & Dean of the Faculty

Lisa Kasmer
Lisa Kasmer

Associate Professor

Stephen Levin
Stephen Levin

Associate Professor

Meredith Neuman
Meredith Neuman

Associate Professor

English Department Staff

PC

Paula Connors

Managerial Secretary

Michael Bamberg
Professor, Department of Psychology
Email: mbamberg@clarku.edu
Tel: 1-508-793-7135


Gino Diiorio
Professor of Theater, Department of Visual and Performing Arts
Email: gdiiorio@clarku.edu
Tel: 1-508-793-7456

Bruce Borowsky
ENG 020-01
Email: bborowsky@clarku.edu


Reginald Gibson
ENG123/1 Voicing The Verse
Email: rgibson@clarku.ed


Rose Novak
Email: rnovak@clarku.edu


Kate Senecal
Email: ksenecal@clarku.edu


Lucilia Valerio
Email: lvalerio@clarku.edu
Tel: 1-508-793-715

James Elliott, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, English
Textual editing; historical/cultural/bibliographical research; issues of race, class, gender, and historicism in the 19th and 20th centuries
Email: jelliott@clarku.edu


SunHee Gertz, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita and Senior Research Scholar, Department of English
Tel: 1-508-793-7152
Email: sgertz@clarku.edu


Serena S. Hilsinger, Ph.D.
Professor Emerita, English
Modernist literature; literature by women
Email: shilsinger@clarku.edu


Fern Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of English 

Dr. Johnson is a sociolinguist specializing in the study of ethnicity, race, and gender in discourse. Her teaching and research center on the relationship of cultural systems to language-in-use, especially ideological codes in discourse and language policy issues. She has written on topics including cultural models for understanding language diversity, language policy, gender and discourse, and the language of advertising as cultural text.

Tel: 1-508-793-7142
Email: fjohnson@clarku.edu


Virginia Mason Vaughan, Ph.D.
Research Professor, Department of English
Early modern English literature, especially Shakespeare and his contemporaries
Tel: 1-508-793-7144
Email: vvaughan@clarku.edu