Skip to content

Doctoral students are integral to collaboration on research with faculty members in their labs and with fellow graduate students and undergraduates. These opportunities allow students to benefit from our faculty’s expertise while gaining experience mentoring and teaching. The close-knit community of students in biology, biochemistry and molecular biology, and chemistry builds collaboration across disciplines both in the lab and in the field, which has led to exciting research.

Shafer Belisle
sbelisle@clarku.edu
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Adviser: Nathan Ahlgren
B.S., University of Tennessee-Knoxville
M.S., University of Tennessee

Emily Dart
edart@clarku.edu
Office: 350 Lasry Bioscience
Project: Using cyanobacteria and cyanophages as a model system to study virus-host dynamics
Adviser: Nathan Ahlgren
B.S., Biology, University of Utah

Amy Cheu
acheu@clarku.edu
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Research interests: Functional morphology, biomechanics, and muscle physiology
Project: Complex form and function relationships in whole organism performance
Adviser: Philip Bergmann
B.S., Biology, University of California, Riverside

Mandy Gaudreau
mgaudreau@clarku.edu 
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Project: Predicting spatial and temporal distributions of Batrachochytrium dendrobatidis in the northeastern United States using species distribution modeling
Adviser: Todd Livdahl

Eun-Mi Jeong 
EJeong@clarku.edu 
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Research interests: Nuclear envelope proteins
Adviser:
Denis Larochelle
B.S., Life Science, Konju National University
M.S., Cancer Biology, Seoul National University

Daniel Klonaros
dklonaros@clarku.edu
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Project: Cis-regulatory module architecture in drosophilids
Adviser: Robert Drewell

Alicia Knudson
aknudson@clarku.edu
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Research interests: Systematics and developmental biology of fungi
Project: Fruiting body plasticity in Lentinus tigirinis and light signaling pathways in Agaricomycetes
Adviser: David Hibbett
B.S., Botany, University of Wisconsin, Plattesville
M.S., Plant Biology , University of Minnesota

Xiaoli Mo
XiMo@clarku.edu
Office: 340 Lasry Biosciences
Research interests: Developmental biology and epigenetics
Adviser:
Robert Drewell
B.S., Biological Science, Nanjing Normal University

Sean Patev
SPatev@clarku.edu 
Office: 340 Lasry Biosciences
Research interests: Plant pathology and plant-degrading fungi
Adviser: David Hibbett
B.S., Microbiology, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
M.S., Plant Pathology, Cornell University

Prasanth Prabhu
PPrabhu@clarku.edu
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Research interests: Fungal systematics and evolution
Project: Comparative genomics in the shiitake genus Lentinula

Johnny Davila-Sandoval
johnnyds0411@gmail.com
Office: 340 Lasry Bioscience
Research interests: Nervous system evolution, body plan formation, comparative embryology
Project: Signaling pathways involved in neural fate specification during early development of Capitella teleta 

Dale Stevens
DalStevens@clarku.edu 
Office: 340 Lasry Biosciences
Advisers: Susan Foster and John Baker
B.S., Life Sciences, Arizona State University

Abhinav Sur
asur@clarku.edu
Office: 340 Lasry Biosciences
Research interests: Evolution, development, genetics
Project: Spatiotemporal expression pattern of neurogenic homologs reveals a possible role in the annelid, Capitella teleta
Adviser: Néva Meyer
M.S., Biology, National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar, Orissa, India

Anika Wohlleben
AWohlleben@clarku.edu 
Office: 340 Lasry Biosciences
Research interests: Stickleback parasites, ecology and evolution
Advisers: Susan Foster and John Baker
B.Sci., University of Muenster
M.Sci., University of Muenster

Contact Information

Department of Biology

Office Location
  • The Lasry Center for Bioscience
    15 Maywood Street
    Worcester, MA 01610
  • 1-508-793-7173
  • 1-508-793-7174 Fax