Skip to content

Who We Are

The Alumni Council is a dedicated group of volunteers who provide guidance and insight about alumni programs, communications, and outreach. Each of the 24 alumni members serves a four-year term; the Council, along with faculty and student representatives, meets on campus twice a year, with remote meetings scheduled as necessary.


The Clark University Alumni Council connects or reconnects Clarkies with the University. We promote activities and share news that will deepen their affinity with a community that launched passions, careers, and relationships. Through our interactions, we also drive positive and lasting change that redefines what it means to be a Clarkie, and excites and inspires graduates to participate, to give, and to be champions of the Clark experience.


Alumni Council members serve on several committees, including:

  • The Awards Committee selects recipients of three alumni awards — the Distinguished Service Award, the Young Alumni Service Award, and the Service to Society Award.
  • The Communications Committee provides feedback on communications strategies and materials, including Clark magazine, the Clark website, social media, and other outreach projects.
  • The Diversity and Inclusion Committee focuses on the success of affinity groups, volunteers, and programs, ensuring that alumni from all identities and backgrounds are represented and that alumni have a voice in diversity, equity, and inclusion matters at the University.
  • The Lifelong Learning Committee reviews and advises on ongoing educational programming, including on- and off-campus events, virtual events, and how to best engage alumni and faculty in this work.
  • The Nominating Committee selects new members of the Alumni Council and candidates to become the alumni-appointed trustee.

Some Council members also serve as members and liaisons to other volunteer groups, including The Clark Fund Advisory Board, the GOLD Council, and the Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

alumni council meeting

Recent Meetings

Below are recent agendas of Alumni Council meetings.

June 21, 2021, Agenda
May 1, 2021, Agenda
March 13, 2021, Agenda

Mary Owens

Mary L. Owens ’86

Mary Bourbeau Owens ’86 is senior director of retail communications for CVS Health. She has been with CVS for 12 years, initially as head of internal communications for the pharmacy benefit management business. In 2015, she was asked to lead the internal communications team that supports corporate programs as well as mergers and acquisitions. In her current role, which she has held since 2019, she leads a team responsible for proactive media relations and executive thought leadership for CVS Pharmacy.

Shortly after graduating from Clark, Mary — a second-generation Clarkie — moved to the Chicago area, where she lived for 25 years. During that time, she supported the University in a number of volunteer roles, including interviewing prospective students, staffing college fairs, and supporting local alumni events. Since her return to New England in 2005, she has been an active member of the Alumni Council. She lives with her husband, Ken, in Cumberland, Rhode Island.

Garrett Abrahamson

Garrett W. Abrahamson ’07, MBA ’08

Garrett Abrahamson graduated from Clark with a bachelor’s degree in political science and, in 2008, a master’s in business administration. While on campus, he served on the Student Council and Student Alumni Relations Committee, and spent three years as a resident adviser (two of those in Wright Hall). Garrett has stayed connected to Clark as a class agent, GOLD Council member, and, most recently, with the Alumni Council. He is also a member of the Jonas Clark Fellows.

Professionally, he is an associate manager at Public Consulting Group, focused on health care payment reform for states around the country. He lives in Saco, Maine, with his wife, Caitlan, and two young children.


Dr. Hope K. Aryeetey ’98, Ph.D., MSPH, CHES®
Past President

As a Thomas M. Dolan ’62 Scholar Award recipient for Outstanding Service to Clark, Dr. Hope K. Aryeetey (a.k.a. “Dr. Hope”) has actively supported Clark since her undergraduate years. After graduation, she obtained a master’s degree and doctorate in public health. Her volunteer roles for Clark include admissions recruitment of multicultural students; Black Student Union public relations co-chair; ALANA Students in Medicine, Healthcare and Science guest speaker; 15th-year class reunion panelist; and class agent.

Dr. Hope joined Clark’s Alumni Association Nominating Committee in 2011. In 2015, she was appointed to the Executive Board and, in 2016, she became chair of the Nominating Committee and president-elect. In 2018, she became president of the Alumni Council and was instrumental in creating the Council’s Diversity and Inclusion Task Force, a key accomplishment reflecting her leadership, passion, and commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion for Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC). She currently serves as immediate past president of the Alumni Council.

Dr. Hope lives in Queens Village, New York, and is an avid reader who enjoys traveling, cooking, and cultural excursions. She loves fashion, styling, and seasonal sports, and is dedicated to networking and mentoring adolescents and young adults, volunteering with her church, and continuing her philanthropic commitment to global health and humanitarian charities.


  • Hope K. Aryeetey ’98, Queens Village, N.Y.
  • Sandra Abramson ’68, New York, N.Y.
  • Justin L. Bailey ’00, Memphis, Tenn.
  • Katherine W. Bogen ’15, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Malik Brown ’00, MBA ’02, Philadelphia, Penn.
  • Nicholas J. Callender ’11, MPA ’12, Washington, D.C.
  • Ishara R. Casella Connors, Ph.D. ’06, Bryan, Texas
  • Robin E. Cohen ’06, MPA ’07, Brookline, Mass.
  • Anthony Colon ’03, MPA ’04, Rockaway Beach, N.Y.
  • Wendy B. Pomerantz Goldman ’92, Sherman Oaks, Calif.
  • Abbie Goldberg, Faculty Representative
  • Randi P. Guinn Shirley ’91, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Margaret Guzman ’89, Worcester, Mass.
  • Thomas Hicks ’93, Springfield, Va.
  • Ifrad Islam ’10, Worcester, Mass.
  • Taylor M. LaFlamme ’23, North Yarmouth, Maine
  • Jeffrey Lambert ’85, Ventura, Calif.
  • Stacey Lawrence ’08, Dorchester, Mass.
  • Anne L. McKinnon ’83, Jamaica Plain, Mass.
  • Nichole R. Mercier ’98, M.A. ’00, Saint Louis, Mo.
  • Carol A. Meyers ’88, P ’18, Rye, N.Y.
  • Brigid Palcic ’11, MA ’12, New Paltz, N.Y.
  • Abhishek Raman ’09, Cambridge, Mass.
  • Deborah A. Roth ’82, Durham, N.C.
  • Siddharth Sharma, MBA ’10, Natick, Mass.
  • Rebecca Sherer ’79, Northampton, Mass.
  • Colin Sterling ’18, Boca Raton, Fl.
  • Miranda Valerio ’11, Decatur, Ga.
Contact Information

Alumni and Friends Engagement

Office Information