Skip to content

Beta Gamma Sigma Induction and Awards Ceremony Held

Honor society inductees & award winners honored

Clark University’s School of Management (SOM) recently celebrated the induction of 26 students into Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honor society exclusively for business programs accredited by AACSB International – the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. In addition, SOM honored outstanding students, an alumna, and a faculty member with awards for their scholarship, leadership, and service at the ceremony on May 11. It was the first time since 2019 that the event was held on campus.

Alan Eisner, dean of the Clark University School of Management (SOM), opened the ceremony and announced the special award recipients.

“Inducting our Beta Gamma Sigma students and presenting these outstanding student and alumni awards remains a special tradition in the School of Management, and I am thrilled to be back together in person to share this with you,” Dean Eisner said to open the ceremony. “On behalf of our faculty and staff, I applaud each of you and offer our congratulations. We are proud of all of your achievements.”

School of Management Special Awards

Morton H. ’51 and Vivian B. Sigel Undergraduate Management Award

Student Jireh Williams.
Jireh Williams

Morton H. and Vivian B. Sigel were dedicated and generous friends of Clark University, as well as engaged citizens who contributed time, talent, and resources to several Worcester area organizations.  Mort graduated from Clark with a degree in business in 1951, and was the founder and CEO of Millbrook Distribution Services in Leicester, Massachusetts. He and his family have made significant contributions to Clark and the School of Management over many years.

The Sigel Undergraduate Award was presented to Jireh Williams. Jireh had the highest GPA in the management major and will continue in the fifth year program to earn his MBA.

Morton H. ’51 and Vivian B. Sigel Endowed Fellowship Award

Headshot Idriss
Idriss Laouali Abdou

Student Michelle Duong
Michelle Duong

This award is voted upon by the School of Management staff and faculty and is given to individuals who exhibit excellence in academic achievement and who demonstrate strength of character, strong leadership skills and outstanding potential for future success in the business community.

The 2022 Sigel Endowed Fellowship was awarded to Idriss Laouali Abdou and Michelle Duong.

William ’53 and Agnes Hausrath Leadership Award

William F. Hausrath graduated from Clark University in 1953 with a Bachelor of Business Administration degree.  During and after a long and distinguished career at General Electric’s aircraft engine division in Lynn, Massachusetts, Bill devoted much of his energy to supporting Clark University as an actively engaged alumnus. His generosity to Clark University has allowed the creation of undergraduate scholarships, the Armenian Genocide Fellowship Fund in the Strassler Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies, and the Bill ’53 and Agnes Hausrath Fund for Business Leadership in the School of Management.


Headshot Drashhti Bilimoria
Drashhti Bilimoria

Student Sinu Chacko
Sinu Chacko

This year’s Hausrath Leadership Award was presented to two students: Drashhti Bilimoria, an  MBA student with a concentration in information management and business analytics;  and, Sinu Chacko, a student earning the master’s in marketing analytics.

Tamarkin Finance Fellowship Award

Maurry Tamarkin was a distinguished finance professor who served as a teacher and mentor to thousands of students and alumni over his thirty years of service to Clark University. He was the Interim Dean at Clark SOM for three years and had the foresight at that time to design and introduce the MSF program which has become a globally recognized strength of the university. Professor Tamarkin will be long remembered by his former students and faculty colleagues for his enduring commitment to quality and high standards, his dry sense of humor, his generous spirit (including the annual barbecues hosted at his home), his quiet leadership and his ever-present integrity.

This year’s recipients of the Tamarkin award were: Sonu Chaudhary, an MSF student;  and Sangam Dahal, a dual degree MBA and master’s in finance student.

2022PRME Alumni Award

PRME vertical logoThe Principles for Responsible Management Education (PRME) Alumni Award is given annually to an SOM alumna or alumnus whose actions and contributions, either through volunteer activity or professional work experience, align with the schools focus on responsible leadership, ethics, social responsibility, and/or sustainability.

The 2022 PRME Alumni Award winner is Ivette Olmeda, MBA/MA ’17 Economic Development Fellow with MassDevelopment.  Read more about Ivette and her 2022 PRME Award here.


Beta Gamma Sigma Induction

BGS logo

Membership in the prestigious Beta Gamma Sigma honor society is the highest recognition a business student can receive in a program accredited by AACSB International. BGS has just under 600 collegiate chapters around the world. To be eligible, students must rank in the top 10 percent of their undergraduate management program, or the top 20 percent of their MBA or master’s in accounting, finance, or business analytics program.



John D’Eufemia

Sara Kashif

Chang Liu

Xuong (Chris) Nguyen

Monineath Nann

Michael Schiappa

Jireh Williams


Yu Cao

Sangam Dahal

Armand Duncan

Qingyuan Fu

Oli Galvin

Yuchu Han

Lucas Hoffner


Alyssa Kanefield

Chawat Limkangwarnmongkol

Kelly Lin

Tina Lu

Olivia Pozder

Swarup Saha

Aditi Singh

Shuaizhao Wang

Aaron Wolfson

Fanru Zhou

Mingjie Zhou

Beta Gamma Sigma Second Recognition:   Drashhti Bilimoria;  Trevor Ham;  Abigail Souza;  Bobby Sharma

Beta Gamma Sigma Graduating Seniors (previously inducted):  Giorgo Caripidis Soto

Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year: Donna Gallo, PhD