Faculty Research Grants and Awards

  • Susan Foster & John Baker
    2005: National Science Foundation. Title: Ancestral plasticity and mating system evolution in the stickleback radiation. Award: $574,548. Duration: 2005-2009.

  • David Hibbett
    2012: National Science Foundation AVATOL (Assembling, Visualizing and Analyzing the Tree of Live) Program. Title: Collaborative Research: Automated and Community-Driven Synthesis of the Tree of Life, DEB 1208719. Award: $300,000. Duration: May 1, 2012 - April 30, 2015.

    2010: National Science Foundation Biodiversity Inventories (R. Halling, PI, DSH and M. Binder, Co-PIs). Title: Boletineae (Fungi) in Queensland, Australia, DEB- 1020421. Award: $456,395. Duration: Sept. 1, 2010 - Aug. 31, 2013.

    2009: National Science Fundation Systematics and Population Biology (DSH, PI).Title: T- enhancing taxonomic expertise in the Polyporales, DEB- 0933081. Award: $750,000. Duration: Jan. 1, 2010 - Dec. 31, 2014.

  • Denis Larochelle
    2009: Nuclea Biomarkers, LLC (DAL, PI). Title: Dictyostelium-based screen for novel drugs. Award: $125,000 per year. Duration: June 1, 2009 - May 31, 2010, renewable for three years.

  • Todd Livdahl
    2012: National Institutes of Health. Title: Community Diversity and Parasite Dynamics. Award: $380,000. Duration: 2012-2015.

  • Deborah Robertson
    2011: National Science Foundation. Title: Regulation of nitrogen assimilation in marine diatoms: Investigation of the importance of post-transcriptional processes. Award: $385,381. Duration: 2011-2014.

  • Heather Wiatrowski
    2008: Department of Energy Environmental Remediation Sciences Program. Title: Microbial reduction of mercury in saturated subsurface sediments and its potential to mobilize mercury in its elemental form. Tamar Barkay (PI); Heather A. Wiatrowski, Nathan Yee, Ravi Kukkadapu, Lily Y. Young, and Gerben Zylstra, (coPI's). Award: $997,749.00. Duration: August 2008 - July 2011.