Psi Chi students seated with professor adviser

Clark’s psychology honor society wins best team award

May 4, 2017

Clark University’s chapter of Psi Chi, an international honor society in psychology, has been selected for the Kay Wilson Officer Team Leadership Award. The award is presented annually to recognize a chapter for its significant and demonstrable team leadership. The Clark chapter will receive a $2,000 prize and a commemorative plaque.

Jennifer Baldwin, awards and grants officer of the Psi Chi central office, said judges commented that Clark’s Psi Chi chapter was “very impressive,” and that its application materials were “well organized and show[ed] a clear focus for the leadership team.”

To be eligible for the award, Clark’s Psi Chi team members had to submit two essays that detailed the chapter’s activities such as community service and fundraising; membership practices; participation in both local chapter and Psi Chi Society events; and contributions to the department, the school, the community, and the field of psychology. Clark’s Psi Chi members prepared essays about their strength in diversity, their democratic club culture and their shared passion for personal growth.

“We collaborated in all aspects of preparing for this application,” chapter president Despoina Lioliou ’17 said. “We were all thrilled to hear the good news, and it was so gratifying to have our hard work rewarded. This is one of the hardest-working and most committed teams I've had the pleasure of leading.”

Lioliou said the members would use the cash award for GRE tutoring sessions, professional development trips and other activities that will help its members grow.

Seana Moran, research assistant professor of psychology, has served as a chapter faculty adviser for three years. She describes the group as “amazing.”

“They exemplify their mission to build community and zeal in psychology as a major and as a field,” she wrote in a letter of support for the award. “[Team members] are particularly adept at turning psychological concepts into tools to put into practice — such as growth mindset, purpose, ongoing reflection, appreciation of each other, and leaving a good legacy for future leaders of the chapter.”

Besides Lioliou, members of Clark’s Psi Chi chapter include Sherief Eldeeb '18, Cindy Mohnblatt Bronstein '17, Fatima Zavala Ruiz '17, Jacob Kahn '17 and Turku Hasturk '17.

Psi Chi, an international honors society in psychology, was founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology. Clark’s Psi Chi Chapter was established in 1960.

Above: Members of Clark’s Psi Chi Chapter include back, from left, Sherief Eldeeb '18, Cindy Mohnblatt Bronstein '17, Fatima Zavala Ruiz '17 and faculty adviser Seana Moran; front, from left, Jacob Kahn ’17, Despoina Lioliou ’17 and Turku Hasturk ’17.

Angela Bazydlo - Marketing and Communications - Clark University